

William Francis Galvin Secretary of the Commonwealth

Contact: Brian McNiff May 27, 2008

Telephone: 617-727-9180

SECRETARY GALVIN TO PRESENT 2008 HISTORIC PRESERVATION AWARD TO THE EDMUND FOWLE HOUSE, WATERTOWN

Secretary of the Commonwealth William Francis Galvin, Chairman of the Massachusetts Historical Commission, announces the selection of the Edmund Fowle House to receive a 2008 Massachusetts Historical Commission Historic Preservation Award.

"The Massachusetts Historical Commission is proud to recognize the extraordinary accomplishments of this year's awardees," said Secretary Galvin. "The projects the Commission is recognizing this year are particularly diverse and represent the many creative ways significant historic resources are being preserved across the Commonwealth. The Historical Society of Watertown and the Fowle House Restoration Committee are to be commended for their fine restoration of this historically significant building."

The Edmund Fowle House, constructed in 1772 on Mount Auburn Street in Watertown, was used by the Governor's Council for the 2nd and 3rd Provincial Congresses during the British occupation of Boston in 1775. At the end of the occupation, the house returned to residential use by the Fowle family, who divided the second-floor meeting room into three rooms. In 1872, the house was moved 100 yards down the street and converted into a two-family residence. The goal of the project was to restore the meeting room to its 1775-1776 appearance while returning the exterior of the house to its 1872 appearance. The Historical Society of Watertown owns the Edmund Fowle House, which is operated as a museum. The Edmund Fowle House is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Secretary Galvin will present the awards at an early evening ceremony on Thursday, May 29, 2008 at the Massachusetts Archives Building at 220 Morrissey Blvd., Dorchester. The Edmund Fowle House project is one of 11 projects and individuals to be honored.

This is the 30th year of MHC's Preservation Awards program. Projects are considered annually for awards in the categories of Rehabilitation and Restoration, Adaptive Reuse, Education and Outreach, Archaeology, and Landscape Preservation. Individuals are considered in the categories of Individual Lifetime Achievement and Local Preservationist. Secretary Galvin serves as the chair of the 17-member Massachusetts Historical Commission.

The Massachusetts Historical Commission is the office of the State Historic Preservation Officer and the State Archaeologist. It was established in 1963 to identify, evaluate, and protect important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth. Visit our website to learn more about the Commission's programs (www.sec.state.ma.us/mhc).

-End-