INTERCOLLEGIATE RIFLE TEAM TROPHY



The Intercollegiate Rifle Team Trophy is an upright, sterling silver vase with two handles and the SAR Crest centered on the vase front. It sits on a metal block base with engraved plates. It was presented to NRA in 1928 by the General Society Sons of the Revolution for annual rifle competition among the colleges and universities of the United States.

Match Conditions:

- 1928 Team of five firing members, one alternate, Team Captain, and Coach. Ten shots per firing member, 50 feet indoor.
- 1960 Team firing members reduced from five to four.
- Target change from conventional A-17 to NRA A-1975 36 target.
- Trophy winner changed from 1200 point aggregate 1979 under the NRA 3-Position Rules, to 4800 point aggregate under the NRA International Rules.
- Rededicated for competition in the NCAA Rifle 1980 Championships and awarded to the NCAA Rifle Team Champions (aggregate team scores of smallbore rifle and air rifle team).
- Rededicated for competition in the NRA 1982 Intercollegiate Sectionals and awarded to the smallbore rifle team with the highest score. Course of fire: 3-Position, 4 member team, 4800 shot aggregate.
- 2005 Course of fire changed to 60 shots per team member.

TROPHY WINNERS

1928	George Washington Univ.	1332
1929	State Univ. of Iowa	1365
1930	U.S. Naval Academy	1375
1931	U.S. Naval Academy	1382
1932	Univ. of Cincinnati	1363
1933	Univ. of Minnesota	1374
1934	U.S. Naval Academy	1360
1935	U.S. Naval Academy	1383
1936	Carnegie Institute of Tech	1372
1937	U.S. Naval Academy	1397
1938	George Washington Univ.	1388
1939	U.S. Naval Academy	1391
1940	State Univ. of Iowa	1403
1941	Univ. of Minnesota	1383
1942	U.S. Military Academy	1396
1943-46	NO COMPETITION	

1947	Univ. of Maryland	1408
1948	U.S. Naval Academy	1405
1949	Univ. of Maryland	1419
1950	U.S. Military Academy	1407
1951	Massachusetts Inst. of Tech.	1437
1952	Univ. of Calif-Berkeley #1	1432
	3	
1953	Univ. of Maryland	1442
1954	Univ. of Maryland	1439
1955	Univ. of CalifBerkeley #1	1442
1956	Univ. of Nevada-Reno	1443
1957	Univ. of CalifBerkeley #1	1440
		1431
1958	Univ. of CalifBerkeley #1	
1959	Univ. of CalifBerkeley #1	1444
1960	Oregon State Univ.	1159
1961	West Virgina Univ	1164
1962	Oregon State Univ.	1170
1963	The Citadel	1166
1964	West Virginia Univ.	1173
1965	U.S. Military Academy	1165
1966	West Virginia Univ.	1177
1967	U.S. Naval Academy	1170
1968	Murray State Univ.	*1175
1000		*1175
	Montana State Univ.	
1969	U.S. Naval Academy	1181
1970	Murray State Univ.	1182
1971	Tennessee Tech Univ.	1183
1972	Tennessee Tech Univ.	1189
1973	Tennessee Tech Univ.	1188
1974	East Tennessee State Univ.	1185
1975	U.S. Military Academy	1136
1976	Texas Christian Univ.	1136
1977	Tennessee Tech Univ.	1152
1978	Murray State Univ.	1157
1979	Tennessee Tech Univ.	4642
1980	Tennessee Tech Univ.	6201
1981	Tennessee Tech Univ.	6139
1982		
	West Virginia Univ.	4630
1983	Tennessee Tech Univ.	4635
1984	West Virginia Univ.	4665
		4622
1985	West Virginia Univ.	
1986	West Virginia Univ.	4640
1987	Univ. of South Florida	4652
1988	Tennessee Tech Univ.	4641
1989	West Virginia Univ.	4676
1990	Tennessee Tech Univ.	4639
1991	West Virginia Univ.	4652
1992	West Virginia Univ.	4663
1993	West Virginia Univ.	4645
1994	U.S. Air Force Academy	4640
1995	West Virginia Univ.	4660
1996	University of Kentucky	4670
1997	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4658
1998	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4698
1999	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4702
2000	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4682
2001	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4710
2002	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4696
2003	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	4719
2004	University of Alaska at Fairbanks Gold	4722
2005	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	2349
2006	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	2356
2007	University of Alaska at Fairbanks	2315
2008	West Virginia University	2318
2009	Jacksonville State University	2327

* Co-holders.